Homeland Security rolls out electronics ban on flights coming from 10 airports in Middle East, North Africa

The Trump administration is imposing an electronics ban for passengers at 10 airports in eight countries from North Africa and the Middle East. U.S.-bound travellers carrying anything larger than a cellphone — such as a laptop, tablet or portable DVD player — will now have to store the device in a checked bag if they’re flying nonstop out from affected Muslim-majority nations, several of which are U.S. allies. Great Britain announced later Tuesday it would take similar steps, but covering fewer countries.   The airports are in Amman, Jordan; Cairo; Kuwait City, Kuwait; Doha, Qatar; Dubai and Abu Dhabi, both in United Arab Emirates; Istanbul; Casablanca, Morocco; Riyadh and Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. Officials said the ban isn’t related to President Trump’s revised executive order blocking citizens of other Muslim-majority countries from entering the United States for 90 days. A Homeland Security spokeswoman said the agency “did not target specific nations. We relied upon evaluated intelligence to determine which airports were affected.” The electronics ban impacts nine airlines flying into the U.S. on a daily basis. U.S.-based airlines are not impacted because they don’t fly directly in or out of the cities, officials said. The affected airlines have until Friday to begin complying with the new order, according to the government. U.S. citizens, however, are subject to the electronics ban, which DHS said will “remain in place until the threat changes.” Airline workers are exempt from the rules, and large medical devices aren’t subject to the ban. DHS could also expand… [Read full story]

Speak Your Mind